Superintendent of Schools

Executive Regional Superintendent

The Gloucester County Office of Education is the arm of the New Jersey State Department of Education that serves as liaison for citizens and local school districts to the Department of Education. Its primary function is to provide assistance and support to school districts, serving as a resource to school district personnel.

The office provides oversight and monitoring of the 29 school districts to ensure compliance with law and code, annually approves local school district budgets, verifies the Applications for State School Aid, approves transportation contracts and jointures, and approves substandard instructional areas.

The office assists residents of the county who are seeking certification as a teacher or substitute teacher. Substitute teacher credentials are issued to qualified applicants. Assistance is provided to parents who call for guidance regarding school related issues.

The Executive Regional Superintendent position was established by the Commissioner of Education to provide improved alignment of our current staff in support of educational initiatives in Region 7 which includes Gloucester County.  Through better alignment, counties will be more responsive to district needs and provide a proactive outreach and support in helping schools and districts implement the Common Core State Standards.

The address for the Gloucester County Office of Education is The Shady Lane Complex , 254 County House Road, Clarksboro, NJ 08020

Open Weekdays - 8:00 A.M. to 4:30 P.M.
Phone: 856-686-8370
Fax: 856-423-5296

 

Staff E-Mail Addresses

Carol Skelton - carol.skelton@doe.state.nj.us
Dena Cooper - dena.cooper@doe.state.nj.us
Anna D'Ambrosio - anna.dambrosio@doe.state.nj.us
James McBee   - james.mcbee@doe.state.nj.us
Jillian Palladino  Gillespie- jillian.palladino-gillespie@doe.state.nj.us
Deborah Sebastiani - deborah.sebastiani@doe.state.nj.us
Carla Spates - carla.spates@doe.state.nj.us
Doris Isaacs - doris.isaacs@doe.state.nj.us
Nancy Ulrick - nancy.ulrick@doe.state.nj.us

Freeholder Director - Robert M. Damminger
Freeholder Liaison  -  Lyman Barnes