Child Safety Seats

Please contact our Certified Child Passenger Safety Technician Coordinators for an appointment at:

    Capt. Kim Reichert (856) 384-4672

    The Child Safety Seat Program and Sheriff's Officers are at the County Clerk's Store in the Deptford Mall every 1st and 3rd Saturday of every month from 10 am -  2 pm.  No appointment necessary. 

The following Sheriff's Officers are Child Safety Seat Certified Technicians:

  • Captain Kim Reichert
  • Sergeant Jake Smith
  • Detective William Tappin
  • Sheriff's Officer Doug Daniels 
  • Sheriff's Officer Jill Manson
  • Sheriff's Officer Chris Jackson 
  • Sheriff's Officer Anthony Cossaboon 
  • Sheriff's Officer Steve Allen
  • Sheriff's Officer Charles Bittle
  • Sheriff's Officer Kristy Savage
  • Sheriff's Officer Angelina Michener
  • Sheriff's Officer Richard Hanratty
  • Sheriff's Officer Randolph Broadbent
  • Sheriff's Officer James Monaghan
  • Sheriff's Officer Kevin Pluta 
New Jersey Child Passenger Restraint Law. (Title 39:3-76.2a). Changes Effective September 1, 2015.
Proper Child Safety Seat Use Chart

Infants Toddlers Young Children
Weight Birth to 2 years at least 30 lbs. Under the age of 4 years and weighing less than 40 lbs. Under the age of 8 years and less than 57 inches in height.
Type of Seat Infant only or rear-facing convertible equipped with a five-point harness. Rear facing equipped with a five-point harness, until the child outgrows the top height or top weight recommendations made by the manufacturer, at which point the child shall be secured in a rear seat, in a forward facing equipped with a five-point harness. Forward facing which is equipped with a fivepoint harness, until the child outgrows the top height or top weight recommendations made by the manufacturer, at which point the child shall be secured in a rear seat, in a booster seat.
Seat Position Rear-facing only Rear-facing Forward-facing
Warning: Always wear a seat belt, no matter your age!
All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat!


Old New Jersey Child Passenger Restraint Law.
Proper Child Safety Seat Use Chart

Infants Toddlers Young Children
Weight Birth to 1 year At least 20-22 lbs. Over 1 year and over 20-40 lbs. Over 40 lbs. Ages 4-8, unless 4'9"
Type of Seat Infant only or rear-facing convertible Convertible / Forward- facing Belt positioning booster seat
Seat Position Rear-facing only Forward-facing Forward-facing
Warning: Always wear a seat belt, no matter your age!
All children age 12 and under should ride in the back seat!

Always Make Sure...        

  • Forward facing harness straps should be at or above shoulders.
  • Most seats require top slot for forward-facing.
  • Belt positioning booster seats must be used with both lap and shoulder belt.
  • Make sure the lap belt fits low and tight across the lap/upper thigh area and the shoulder belt fits snug crossing the chest and shoulder to avoid abdominal injuries.
  • Rear-facing harness straps at or below shoulder level. 
  • Children under the age of 4 years and weighing less than 40 lbs in rear-facing seats until they outgrow the top height or weight.